Talk of the Town

The official blog of the Greater Patchogue Chamber of Commerce, Inc.

Our Member of the Year: James Skidmore

   By: Krystle L. DiNicola, Marketing Assistant

DSC06733James Skidmore was recognized last night as the Greater Patchogue Chamber of Commerce’s 2015 Member of the Year at the Brookhaven Chambers of Commerce Coalition‘s annual recognition dinner.

On hearing that he would be receiving the award, Skidmore said, “I was very excited to hear of this recognition. It humbles me to be recognized in a community where so many find value and who freely contribute their time and hard work. The only appropriate response is gratitude.”

DSC06757Skidmore is currently the director of entertainment at the Brick House Brewery and has worked there for the past 10 years.

“I have been in the restaurant and bar business the bulk of my working career. I wear many hats at BHB including front-of-the-house management, bar management, public relations and marketing,” said Skidmore. “I act as the community liaison. I am also the event coordinator. I set-up the benefits, art shows and hire the entertainment from live art to national and local music.”

He has also been active in the Chamber for six years. He is currently part of the Patchogue Cultural Heritage Committee where he hires bands for the annual Reggae in May festival. Skidmore has been involved with the St. Liberata Festival for the past six years and is also an active member of the Restaurant Committee.

“My favorite aspect of being a Chamber member is the networking opportunities and the grand sense of community,” said Skidmore. “I love being able to contribute to the Greater Patchogue area. It is my home and where I grew up. I love that Patchogue keeps evolving and I am thankful to be part of its commercial and artistic renaissance.”

Last, but certainly not least, Skidmore is also the chairman for the award winning Alive After Five® summer street festival.

“This year, I am coordinating Alive After Five® and adding more artists, entertainers and excitement to the event.”

Skidmore was also recognized this past year by the Village of Patchogue, the Suffolk County Legislature and the NYS Senate for his accomplishments in supporting young artists and promoting community and diversity.

DSC06752DSC06728

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 30, 2015 by and tagged , , .
